Students with academic interests not available in the context of existing majors, minors, and double majors may propose a combined or independent major. In these majors, students pursue in-depth study in areas that are supported and approved by the appropriate Northeastern faculty members.

Combined majors include at least nine courses associated with each of two participating disciplines. There must be at least one course that acts as a bridge between the disciplines. No more than two courses may count for both disciplines, i.e., there must be at least 16 courses in the combined major. The combined major should be declared by the end of the first semester of the junior year. It is generally advantageous to declare the combined major as early as possible, especially when highly structured disciplinary components are involved. There are three categories of combined majors:

  1. A number of defined combined majors currently exist where the curriculum is specific to each individual program; see list under “Currently Defined Combined Majors” below.
  2. A number of disciplines have preapproved template programs that may be paired in a variety of combinations to yield combined majors; see list under “New Combined Majors” below.
  3. Disciplines will consider combined programs upon student request.

Students may request admission to a currently defined combined major by following the standard procedure for changing majors. A home college is designated, in which the student will be registered and from which he or she will be graduated. Students completing a combined major receive one degree and one diploma. The combined major and home college will appear on the transcript and diploma.

Defined Combined Majors

  • American Sign Language and Human Services, BS
  • American Sign Language and Linguistics, BS
  • American Sign Language and Psychology, BS
  • American Sign Language and Theatre, BS
  • Biology and English, BS
  • Biology and Mathematics, BS
  • Biology and Political Science, BS
  • Business Administration and Design, BS
  • Chemical Engineering and Biochemistry, BSCHE
  • Chemical Engineering and Physics, BSCHE
  • Communication Studies and Media and Screen Studies, BA
  • Communication Studies and Sociology, BA
  • Computer Engineering and Computer Science, BSCompE
  • Computer Engineering and Physics, BSCompE
  • Computer Science and Biology, BS
  • Computer Science and Business Administration, BS
  • Computer Science and Cognitive Psychology, BS
  • Computer Science and Communication Studies, BS
  • Computer Science and Criminal Justice, BS
  • Computer Science and Design, BS
  • Computer Science and Economics, BS
  • Computer Science and English, BS
  • Computer Science and Environmental Science, BS
  • Computer Science and Game Development, BS
  • Computer Science and History, BS
  • Computer Science and Information Science, BS
  • Computer Science and Journalism, BS
  • Computer Science and Linguistics, BS
  • Computer Science and Mathematics, BS
  • Computer Science and Media Arts, BS
  • Computer Science and Music with Concentration in Music Composition and Technology, BS
  • Computer Science and Philosophy, BS
  • Computer Science and Physics, BS
  • Computer Science and Political Science, BS
  • Computer Science and Sociology, BS
  • Criminal Justice and Political Science, BS
  • Criminal Justice and Psychology, BS
  • Digital Art and Game Design, BFA (soon to be Game Art and Animation, BFA)
  • Economics and Business Administration, BS
  • Economics and Mathematics, BS
  • Economics and Philosophy, BS
  • Electrical Engineering and Physics, BSEE
  • English and Communication Studies, BA
  • English and Cultural Anthropology, BA
  • English and Graphic and Information Design, BA
  • Environmental Geology and Chemistry, BS
  • Environmental Studies and Economics, BS
  • Environmental Studies and History, BA
  • Environmental Studies and International Affairs, BA
  • Environmental Studies and Philosophy, BA
  • Environmental Studies and Political Science, BA
  • Graphic and Information Design and Mathematics, BS
  • History and Asian Studies, BA
  • History and Cultural Anthropology, BA
  • History and English, BA
  • Human Services and Communication Studies, BA
  • Human Services and Criminal Justice, BS
  • Human Services and International Affairs, BA
  • Human Services and Sociology, BA
  • Human Services and Sociology, BS
  • Information Science and Business Administration, BS
  • Information Science and Cognitive Psychology, BS
  • Information Science and Environmental Science, BS
  • Information Science and Journalism, BS
  • International Affairs and Cultural Anthropology, BA
  • International Affairs and Economics, BA
  • International Affairs and Religious Studies, BA
  • Jewish Studies and Religion, BA
  • Spanish and International Affairs, BA
  • Linguistics and Cultural Anthropology, BS
  • Linguistics and English, BA
  • Linguistics and Psychology, BS
  • Mathematics and Business Administration, BS
  • Mathematics and Physics, BS
  • Mechanical Engineering and Physics, BSME
  • Media and Screen Studies and English, BA
  • Media and Screen Studies and History, BA
  • Media and Screen Studies and Journalism, BA
  • Media and Screen Studies and Philosophy, BA
  • Media and Screen Studies and Political Science, BA
  • Media and Screen Studies and Sociology, BA
  • Media and Screen Studies and Theatre, BA
  • Media and Screen Studies and Theatre, BS
  • Media Arts and Communication Studies, BA
  • Music and Communication Studies with Concentration in Music Industry, BS
  • Physics and Music with Concentration in Music Composition and Technology, BS
  • Physics and Philosophy, BS
  • Political Science and Business Administration, BS
  • Political Science and Communication Studies, BA
  • Political Science and Communication Studies, BS
  • Political Science and Economics, BA
  • Political Science and Economics, BS
  • Political Science and International Affairs, BA
  • Political Science and Philosophy, BA
  • Political Science and Philosophy, BS
  • Sociology and Cultural Anthropology, BA
  • Sociology and Cultural Anthropology, BS
  • Sociology and Environmental Studies, BS
  • Sociology and International Affairs, BA
  • Sociology and Political Science, BA

Students may request admission to a new combined major via the Combined Major Approval Form that requires approval by both disciplines/colleges together with an approved curriculum. The request may be for a combined major comprised of preapproved template programs or for a new combined major to be considered by the participating disciplines. During the planning process, advisors from both disciplines will be designated, and one will be identified as the primary advisor. If the two disciplines partnering in the combined major are in different colleges, a home college will be designated in which the student will be registered and from which he or she will be graduated. A meeting of the student and both advisors representing the two disciplines must be held to plan the combined-major curriculum and to consider NUpath requirements. See the lists below of “Discipline Advisors” and “College Contacts” for new student-requested combined majors.

Students completing a combined major receive one degree and one diploma. The combined major and home college will appear on the transcript and diploma. When the two components of the combined major individually offer different degree designations, the degree designation that will appear on the transcript and diploma will be designated during the approval process.

Preapproved Template Programs for Combined Majors

  • Architecture
  • Asian Studies (BA)
  • Communication Studies
  • Cultural Anthropology
  • English (BA)
  • Experience Design
  • Graphic and Information Design (BA and BS)
  • History (BA and BS)
  • Interaction Design
  • Jewish Studies
  • Journalism
  • Media and Screen Studies
  • Media Arts (BA and BS)
  • Music (BA)
  • Music Composition and Technology
  • Music Industry (BS)
  • Philosophy
  • Religious Studies
  • Theatre (BA and BS)
  • Urban Landscape
  • Visual Studies (BA)

For student use in planning a combined major

Discipline Advisor Email
African-American Studies Richard G. Wamai r.wamai@northeastern.edu
American Sign Language Dennis R. Cokely d.cokely@northeastern.edu
Architecture Michael Smith mi.smith@northeastern.edu
Art + Design—Graphic and
Information Design
Thomas Starr t.starr@northeastern.edu
Art + Design—Interaction Design Ann McDonald a.mcdonald@northeastern.edu
Art + Design—Media Arts Celia Pearce c.pearce@northeastern.edu
Art + Design—Visual Studies Milda Richardson m.richardson@northeastern.edu
Asian Studies Gavin M. Shatkin g.shatkin@northeastern.edu
Biochemistry Susan Powers-Lee s.powers-lee@northeastern.edu
Biology Gail Begley g.begley@northeastern.edu
Business Lauren DeSantis l.desantis@northeastern.edu
Chemistry Namratha Shetty na.shetty@northeastern.edu
Communication Studies Dale A. Herbeck d.herbeck@northeastern.edu
Computer Science Mark Erickson m.erickson@northeastern.edu
Criminal Justice/Criminology Simon Singer s.singer@northeastern.edu
Cultural Anthropology Alan M. Klein a.klein@northeastern.edu
Cultures, Societies, and Global Studies Alan West-Duran d.west-duran@northeastern.edu
Data Science Mark Erickson m.erickson@northeastern.edu
Economics Neil O. Alper
or Peter Simon
n.alper@northeastern.edu
p.simon@northeastern.edu
Engineering Candace A. Martel c.martel@northeastern.edu
English Nicole Aljoe n.aljoe@northeasern.edu
Environmental Science Richard H. Bailey or Jonathan H. Grabowski r.bailey@northeastern.edu
j.grabowski@northeastern.edu
Environmental Studies Malcolm D. Hill
or Brian Helmuth
m.hill@northeastern.edu
b.helmuth@northeastern.edu
Game Design Celia Pearce c.pearce@northeastern.edu
History Heather Streets-Salter h.streetssalter@northeastern.edu
Human Services Lori M. Gardinier l.gardinier@northeastern.edu
Information Science Mark Erickson m.erickson@northeastern.edu
International Affairs Ioannis Livanis I.Livanis@northeastern.edu
Jewish Studies Jennifer I. Sartori j.sartori@northeastern.edu
Journalism Daniel D. Kennedy da.kennedy@northeastern.edu
Linguistics Heather A. Littlefield h.littlefield@northeastern.edu
Marine Biology Mark Patterson m.patterson@northeastern.edu
Mathematics Prasanth George or Solomon M. Jekel p.george@northeastern.edu
s.jekel@northeastern.edu
Media and Screen Studies Nathan Blake n.blake@northeastern.edu
Music Allen G. Feinstein a.feinstein@northeastern.edu
Pharmaceutical Sciences Olivia LeClair o.leclair@northeastern.edu
Philosophy Michael C. Meyer m.meyer@northeastern.edu
Physics J. Timothy Sage t.sage@northeastern.edu
Political Science David Rochefort d.rochefort@northeastern.edu
Psychology Dawn Cisewski d.cisewski@northeastern.edu
Religious Studies Michael Meyer m.meyer@northeastern.edu
Sociology Liza Weinstein L.Weinstein@northeastern.edu
Theatre Antonio Ocampo-Guzman a.ocampo-guzman@northeastern.edu

For faculty advisor use during combined-major approval process

College Contact Email
College of Arts, Media and Design Alan J. Zaremba a.zaremba@northeastern.edu
Damore-McKim School of Business Lauren DeSantis l.desantis@northeastern.edu
College of Computer and Information Science Mark Erickson m.erickson@northeastern.edu
College of Engineering Candace A. Martel c.martel@northeastern.edu
Bouvé College of Health Sciences Carmen Sceppa c.sceppa@northeastern.edu
College of Science Amber Watson a.watson@northeastern.edu
College of Social Sciences and Humanities Laura Green la.green@northeastern.edu